Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

Christian Rhetoric & Terrorism

Posted by Clamence/The Chaplain on June 3, 2009

By now, most of us have heard about the murder of Dr. George Tiller in Kansas. He was serving as an usher at his church when he was gunned down. He was one of the only doctors in his part of the country who would perform late-term abortions: “Doctor who performed abortions shot to death.” Dr. Tiller’s alleged killer is a Christian named Scott Roeder, and he was a regular participant in protests at abortion clinics in his area.

As I read about this tragedy, I remembered my concern about the race-baiting and other inflammatory and violent rhetoric used by the right-wing to attack Obama during the election. In a discussion with a Christian friend at the time, I pointed out that this type of rhetoric is dangerous. It is true that most sane Christian Republicans can either see the rhetoric for what it is (an attempt to get poorly-read and ill-informed voters riled up in anger against a particular candidate, so they will be more likely to go out and vote for the opposing candidate–regardless of the lack of truth behind the rhetoric), or they don’t let their parroting of the rhetoric extend past the hatred-drenched comments to fellow-Christians. However, there are clearly some people in society who, for whatever reason, take things much more to heart than the rest of us. When someone calls doctors who perform abortions “murderers” and compares them to Nazis, this group of people take things to their logical conclusions and are willing to carry out God’s plan here on earth. Those Christians who say hateful things about gays and others who they think are disobeying the laws found in that ancient text of myths should keep this in mind.

3 Responses to “Christian Rhetoric & Terrorism”

  1. Mrs Rejane Eagleton said

    Mr “The Chaplain”,

    Who are you and what authority do you have to call that book “that ancient text of myths” ?
    You also should keep in mind not to offend others who do not think like you do. Agree?

  2. The Chaplain said

    I am a fellow human being who, due to strong in-group peer pressure and disapproval from the self-righteous, chooses to remain relatively anonymous. I’m not sure what sort of authority you think I need to state my assertions about the Bible. I call it an “ancient text of myths” for the following reasons: 1) it is ancient, 2) it is a text, 3) the earth is older than 6,000 years old; the Bible’s timeline is in direct disagreement with scientific discoveries about the age of the earth and universe; ergo, the Bible is telling a false story and is therefore a collection of ancient stories by ancient people who knew little about their world. We call other false ancient religious beliefs myths, so why should I make an exception for Christianity?

    Honestly, I put about as much effort into not offending Christians as they put into not offending me. In other words, I don’t put much effort in at all. Christians think I am evil and deserve (along with my evil children) to be tortured for eternity. That is offensive, but I don’t let superstitious beliefs in ancient beliefs offend me. On the other hand, I find it rather silly that grown adults believe in magic, invisible realms and creatures. I imagine that you would find this opinion offensive. There is nothing I can do about that. Anyone who believes in magic will find my thoughts on magic-belief offensive, just as I would find any Christian discussion of non-believers to be offensive.

    • Charity said

      “…just as I would find any Christian discussion of non-believers to be offensive.”

      I remember growing up in a conservative, fundamentalist Christian missionary family. Before I was born, my parents were already deciding to become missionaries. My earliest memories are of being at Bible School with them at age 3. Pretty much most of my childhood I was surrounded by conservative Christians. Sinners, those non-Christians in the world (sure, Christians are sinners too, but their hearts have been washed and are whiter than snow now), were discussed as people who were inherently evil and deserving of hell due to their non-belief. These unrepentant sinners were described to me, from as early as I can remember, as being people who would not only influence me, but actually enjoy leading me into a sinful life of depravity. Encouraging evil behaviors like using profanity, drinking alcohol and using drugs, engaging in sexual improprieties, listening to music with dirty lyrics, dancing. They would basically make me into a woman with loose morals.

      Looking back, I realize how hard my parents and the Christians I knew tried to convince me that OTHER people were bad and only needed Jesus to turn them from their sinful ways, using scripture as evidence and their perspective as evidence. Now that I’m not a Christian, I realize these sinners they were talking about are me and my friends and family and most people. That most Christians would probably think that I’m the danger to Christians’ children. That I’m evil. That I deserve hell.

      The assumption is that I would choose to be a Christian if only I knew what was best for me. What if all I really want is to be true to myself. To be honest and respect myself. To be free to “love” people as fellow human beings–not needing to rely on God’s love as manifested through me in order to love the sinners of the world.

      But, I can’t say anything negative about Christians, or the book where they’ve gotten most of their ideas about me from…

      Although I don’t approach discussions with Christians the same way “The Chaplain” does, I completely understand his anger and I think he has a right to say what he wants on this blog, or to Christians in person. I like that this country has laws in place that protect our freedom to say whatever we want to say, including, that there is no God and that the Bible is an “ancient text of myths”.

Leave a Reply

 
