Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

It’s Called Apathy

Posted by Clamence/The Chaplain on September 9, 2009

Once, about three years ago, I allowed myself to be dragged to church while visiting family. As far as I was concerned, my attendance was uneventful, but not to a female churchgoer who felt inspired enough to write down and illustrate her vision from God:
church
Here is her description of the vision:

A Word for The Chaplain [name has been changed to protect the innocent]

The Lord has shown me a diamond hard substance covered with carbon located in the place of your heart. It was apparent that the diamond material had been formed by extreme pressure. He then showed me a bright red light that came from His hand in heaven. The Love light was focused on the diamond material in your heart and it was joined by love light of a different sort emanating from earth. The combination of light proceeded to melt the diamond hard substance as well as the carbon black material that surrounded your heart. Once melted the carbon material vanished or was vaporized. The diamond material then could be seen moving out of your body and being reformed into millions of tiny diamonds that were being spread to others through your mouth and hands. [See illustration]

This word was interpreted as the Lord as well as significant people in your life touching your heart in such a profound way that any hardness that existed from past hurts and pressures of life melted before the power of His and others Love for you. You then realizing how very much you were, are and will continue to be loved, were able to pass this same love on to so very many others through your words and deeds.

The Chaplain spreads diamonds through his mouth and hands

The Chaplain spreads diamonds through his mouth and hands

6 Responses to “It’s Called Apathy”

  1. JN said

  2. Jerry said

    I think this how things like Revelation and the Book of Mormon get created. It’s sad that she is so desperate for you to “change” that she invokes magical visions to help bring that about. Sounds like it’s her way of dealing with anxiety and stress related to losing you to the dark side.

  3. Brandt said

    Visions… oh boy. Believe it or not, miracles like visions were one of the only things that kept me in the church back when I went through my first phase of doubting. Thinking practically, as always, I figured that the only thing that might justify my own hopelessly powerless religion was something that made it feel immanent and real. Something like a vision, a dream, a miracle. And so I turned my back on the cessationist fellowships I was familiar with and started attending a Vineyard church.

    I never got visions. But I had friends who could tell me about their visions. And some of them were about me and my doubts, of course.

    I pursued those things until I finally had to give up all hope of ever experiencing God. And that was my second phase of doubting. The one that killed my faith for good.

  4. Jerry said

    What’s fascinating to me is that my own tradition (Churches of Christ) was very much cessationist (miracles/visions ceased with the last Apostle), but there was a subtle obsession that the CofC had for modern day revelation. It came in the form of “scholarly study” of the scriptures, which would reveal even more about the infinite mysteries of God as long as a person was serious and intent on digging into the scriptures. Use the tools of the original biblical languages, historical-critical methods, whatever you could find, but as long as you were intent and worked hard, you might be able to see some of the mysteries of God that others hadn’t seen. I hadn’t thought of it in this way until this post, but I’m pretty sure that’s how my old church adopted their own version of visions or revelations. This meant that their revered priesthood was composed of NT and OT scholars.

    • The Chaplain said

      It is interesting though that conservative scholars do not advocate the removal of portions of the scripture that have been shown to have not existed in earlier versions of the NT. For instance, it is pretty clear that the adulterous woman scene is a later addition. Why not demand immediately that God’s Word be fixed to remove the sinful modification?

      To me, it reveals that what conservatives truly value is tradition and the status quo. They simply look for what is the purer essence and origin of the scripture to reaffirm their beliefs that change is bad and the past should be glorified and longed for. It all goes back to fear: of mortality and the idea that we are all free and responsible for ourselves in this empty galaxy. Frightening, ain’t it?

      • Jerry said

        Oh yes, I used to be a little mischievous when I taught Bible class and showed my audience the Greek NT with all the footnotes of various sources and how discrepant the readings were. It must have been the beginnings of the dark side for me. It’s interesting to watch them squirm when you confront them with the various sources of the NT and how those sources and their readings vary so greatly, and that’s just for the canonical books. I’m not sure that many of the believers ever connect their claim that every word was literally inspired to the idea that we really don’t even know what every “word” is. They always return to the tradition that the KJ Version must be correct, so if it’s in there, it must be part of the NT. It does take courage to face the truth about oneself, one’s religion, and the world around us.

Leave a Reply

 
