Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

Irreligious Song #6: A Perfect Circle, “Judith”

Posted by Noraa on November 9, 2010

So “Bob” has opened the doors to the “Irreligious Song” series of blogs, so I’ll kick off my authorship on here with one or two songs that immediately came to mind when I saw the first one he posted.

I’ve always loved Mayanard James Keenan’s lyrics (better known as vocalist for the band Tool). There’s something in them I’ve always connected with in every project he’s been a part of. He has a certain well-thought out, beautifully phrased way of getting his point across. He definitely didn’t make many people in the Christian world happy with much of his lyrics with Tool (i.e. “Sober”), but “Judith” is one of the most blatantly irreverent songs he wrote. Surprisingly enough, after a bit of expected editing, it got a lot of airplay and was one of the songs that pushed them into the mainstream.

Supposedly, the song is a response to his mother’s death from a long bout with cancer. There’s actually a song on Tool’s last album, “10,000 days” (which is a reference to the amount of time his mother suffered), that takes an almost opposite stance on her death. I just love the attitude of this one and thought it would fit in nicely.

Anyway, being my first time to post on here, I’m not sure I’ll get this link right but here it is……..

You’re such an inspiration for the ways that I will never ever choose to be
Oh so many ways for me to show you how your savior has abandoned you

Fuck your god
Your lord, your Christ
He did this
Took all you had and
Left you this way
Still you pray, never stray, never
Taste of the fruit
Never thought to question why

It’s not like you killed someone
It’s not like you drove a hateful spear into his side
Praise the one who left you broken down and paralyzed
He did it all for you
He did it all for you

Oh so many ways for me to show you how your dogma has abandoned you

Pray
To your Christ, to your god
Never taste of the fruit
Never stray, never break, never
Choke on a lie
Even though he’s the one who
Did this to you
Never thought to question why

It’s not like you killed someone
It’s not like you drove a spiteful spear into his side
Talk to Jesus Christ as if He knows the reasons why
He did it all for you
He did it all for you
Did it all for you

10 Responses to “Irreligious Song #6: A Perfect Circle, “Judith””

  1. dsc01 said

    I like this song a lot; although, like all singles from good albums, it isn’t even close to being my favorite on the album.

    I think that “Judith” is the first song I heard, upon returning to the US for good (age 18, in other words). It seemed really weird that I couldn’t sleep, after a good 36 hours’ travel time, but I just watched MTV2 and let it ride.

    I woke up at 5 AM, knowing that I had malaria. Welcome to America! All that I remember from that first night back is watching the video for “Judith.”

    I haven’t had malaria since, and it took 5 years just to admit that I don’t hate “Judith” for its sacrilegious lyrics, but it still was a significant moment, if only because of what has happened since.

    • Noraa said

      i’d be willing to bet this song had a similar affect on a lot of people. i think it took me a while to realize what it was really about because i always heard the edited version and didn’t really hear all the lyrics until later. great band though. 13th step isn’t too shabby either.

  2. Bob said

    Alright, new music posts! I gotta go to bed, but I look forward to listening to them tomorrow.

    • Bob said

      Okay, I have officially heard a song by A Perfect Circle. I’ve clearly been living under a rock, since I was unaware of the Tool connection. I do like the song and the lyrics, although the Venn diagram that is my musical taste is just barely outside the realm of this style of music. I have dark tastes, but a much softer darkness. 🙂
      Then again, as I’m looking at the list of different members of the group over time on Wikipedia, it seems like I should like at least some of their stuff. I’ll have to check them out. Thanks for the post! It’s nice that this music series avoided becoming exclusively retro.

      • Noraa said

        maynard has another side project called puscifer you should check out. nothing at all like tool or a perfect circle. here’s one of my favorites:

      • dsc01 said

        Yeah, you’d like some of their other stuff. “Judith” is from APC’s first album, which consists of songs Billy Howerdel (the bald guitarist) wrote over the years, working as NIN’s guitar tech, with Maynard’s lyrics. Howerdel actually played bass and most of the other guitar tracks on the album, and they added a bassist and guitarist towards the end of recording so they could tour.

        The second album features a lot of new members, and the songs aren’t as heavy as on Mers de Noms; although, “Judith” is probably the most agressive song on the album.

        I remember a line from a music magazine, around the time 13th Step was released, saying something like, “Combine Tool, Nine Inch Nails, and Marilyn Manson and you get… the Cure?!?”

        Also, noraA, good call on Puscifer. I’m a big fan, and my wife is even more of one. We saw them live a few months back. It was a cool show, with crazy video clips between songs and the stuff. The first half of the show had them all playing the roles of redneck country musicians and playing country versions of their songs (old-school country that was still good, that is). For example:

        • Noraa said

          i knew billy howerdel as tool’s guitar tech, didn’t know he worked with NIN as well so i looked it up and wikipedia says he also worked with faith no more, smashing pumpkins, guns’n’roses, and even david bowie. interesting.

          that’s awesome you got to see puscifer. did you go to vegas or did they play closer? i didn’t hear about any other shows besides there and i seriously almost dropped the cash to fly out there and see it.

        • Noraa said

          and damn i love “the noose”.

  3. Paulo said

    Great to see you on here, Noraa. Bienvenue!

Leave a Reply

 
