Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

Irreligious Song #7: Gogol Bordello, “Super Theory of Super Everything”

Posted by Noraa on November 9, 2010

In contrast to the last song I posted, let me lighten the mood a little with one of my favorite bands of the last few years. These guys define their music as “gypsy punk” and the band consists of an eclectic group of musicians from all over Europe, Africa, Asia, and both North and South America. I’ve seen them a couple of times live and have to admit it’s one of the funnest I’ve ever been to. Nonstop insanity from start to finish.

So back to the song, first of all his accent and poor grammar make it amusing within itself, but his lyrics always have depth to them.

First time I had read the Bible
It had stroke me as unwitty
I think it may started rumor
That the Lord ain’t got no humor

Put me inside SSC
Let’s test superstring theory
Oh yoi yoi accelerate the protons
stir it twice and then just add me, ’cause

I don’t read the Bible
I don’t trust disciple
Even if they’re made of marble
Or Canal Street bling

From the maelstrom of the knowledge
Into the labyrinth of doubt
Frozed underground ocean
melting – nuking on my mind

Yes give me Everything Theory
Without Nazi uniformity
My brothers are protons
My sisters are neurons
Stir it twice, it’s instant family!

I don’t read the Bible
I don’t trust disciple
Even if they’re made of marble
Or Canal Street bling

My brothers are protons
My sisters are neurons
Stir it twice dlja prekrastnih dam…

Do you have sex maniacs
Or schizophrenics
Or astrophysicists in your family
Was my grandma anti anti
Was my grandpa bounty bounty
Hek-o-hek-o-hej-o
They ask me in embassy!

‘Cause I don’t read the Bible
I don’t trust disciple
Even if they’re made of marble
Or Canal Street bling

And my grandma she was anti!
And my grandpa he was bounty!
And stir it twice
And then just add me!
Partypartypartypartypartyparty
now afterparty..

3 Responses to “Irreligious Song #7: Gogol Bordello, “Super Theory of Super Everything””

  1. Noraa said

    and by the way, there’s a great movie called “wristcutters” that features some of their music, and a character in the movie is based on eugene hutz (the singer). check it out. one of the best movies i’ve seen in a while.

  2. prb3 said

    Well, I guess this answers that age old mystery…what would a punk band sound like if they mixed in gypsy influences, had a black bassists and were all over 40.

Leave a Reply

 
