Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

Irreligious Song #8: Curve, “Die Like a Dog”

Posted by Clamence/The Chaplain on November 12, 2010

Here is another song from the early 90s in the shoegazer, electronic rock genre. Curve is one of my favorite bands from this era, and I might still have a crush on Toni Halliday. Her lyrics tend to be dark, introspective, and occasionally, intentionally vague; she has a good eye for the hypocrisy of folks who claim holiness.

Lyrics to “Die Like a Dog”

Curled up
in a ball
curled up
when I fall
I will play ball

Out here
in the hall
I have seen
it all
out there
when you call
I won’t play ball

Peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world
where everyone gets heaven
peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world

I like to see
the satelites around me
I like to see
the satelites around me

Peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world
where everyone gets heaven
peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world

I’m just trying
not to die like a dog
end up alone
wheezing from the smog
I’m just trying
not to die in vain
gonna make my mark
stake my claim

Peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world
where everyone gets heaven
peace in a world
free from religion
peace in a world

I listen to my eyes click
there colourful confession
while the language of agression
is on everybody’s lips

3 Responses to “Irreligious Song #8: Curve, “Die Like a Dog””

  1. Ann said

    This was my favorite female band in 1994. Another artist I introduced to you (coincidentally). haha! I love this song.

Leave a Reply

 
