Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

Peace on Earth

Posted by Ann on December 25, 2010

What if people started living their own lives instead of focusing on everyone else except themselves?  Everyone is pissed about something–usually other people. And usually the people they advocate for are the people they most hate (like Christians’ love/hate for the sinful heathens or humanists for the haters). I’m mainly pissed that people are all pissed about something. And how they act all nice and humanisty-like and then talk shit behind people’s backs.  I don’t have time for that, what a waste. Make some jokes about it or something, but don’t go around hating. Oh, and I’m really pissed at all the injustices done by people who are pissed and harboring resentments. Live your life, forget about the rest (who cares if that bastard or asshole hurt you last year–fuck ’em! being pissed doesn’t change anything whatsoever), deal with things as they come up. Lots of nice pissed people out there I’m sure, and lots I don’t like but for whom I have no time to waste thinking or being pissed about–I’m too busy doing me to worry about them. Unless I love you, of course, then I’m allowed to get pissed at you because you can take advantage. The rest of yous, I’m done being pissed with you today. Take a chill pill kids.

11 Responses to “Peace on Earth”

  1. Paulo said

    It must be Christmas time. Merry Christmas.

  2. Jesus said

    Speaking of being pissed, I’m pissed at intolerant right-wingers. I guess you could say I’m intolerant of intolerance. I was just thinking about this, because I deleted another conservative Facebook friend, who took it upon herself to use the typical modus operandi of conservatives: mockery. Normally, I would ignore a Facebook friend who says something about how stupid liberals are, etc. However, this time, this lady chose to mock liberals in a Facebook note on Christmas! So that was my Merry Christmas wish from her. I’ll post what she had up later, to help illustrate it. Anyway, it occurred to me, as I was deleting and blocking her, that I could see her accusing me of being intolerant of her for being a conservative. But it’s really not that at all. I just like to be shown a modicum of respect. If you want to go ahead and mock liberals, that’s your right, but don’t expect me to hang around as your token liberal friend. Fucking conservatives!

  3. Paulo said

    My friends, as you know, I don’t like the whole Christmas season. Not because it’s religious, but because people are more stressed and pissed off during this time than any other time during the year. I was under the impression that the holiday season was supposed to be a relaxing time to reunite with family and friends at the end of the year. Between the mad consumerism of trying to buy gifts to placate your family and friends and the ultra-religiosity of conservative Christian family and friends bitching about “the reason for the season”, it usually turns out to be an unpleasant time for me. So I avoid it. I would rather skip the whole thing than feel caught up in the bullshit and feeling miserable around family and friends…

    I had a great Christmas this year: I slept in, then cleaned my apartment, then my brother and his lady came over for dinner and we went to the movies. It was a good day.

  4. dsc01 said

    Well, since Jesus took the initiative in talking about being pissed at conservatives (which I was hesitant to do, given the intent of the original post–but I wanted to so bad!), I’m gonna chime in, too!

    I’m out and about in the U.S., visiting friends and family, so I have participated in some Christmas festivities. I like any excuse for a party, especially around those who usually don’t loosen up. Still, I have no special affinity for Christmas or any other holiday. The unfathomable enjoyment of garish seasonal decorations is easily tolerable, but all of the soapboxing (as Paulo mentioned, “the reason for the season,” etc) drives me crazy.

    My favorite pet peeve? The non-existent war on Christmas. The most liberal TV shows–“Glee,” “Community,” and many more–had Christmas specials. Keep in mind, both of the shows that I mentioned feature Jews who participated in Christmas festivities. Why not? It’s hardly a religious holiday for most Americans (even Christians have few rituals revolving around Jesus’ birth, relative to the volume of completely secular ones).

    Yet everywhere, people are whining about the supposed war. Some random douchebag on Twitter snidely remarked that all of the Christmas-hating progressives can be happy, knowing that jihadists hate it too. I don’t know what Osama is doing right about now, but all the Muslims I knew in Africa liked Noel just fine, and progressives everywhere celebrate it too.

    The straw man tactics so typical of conservatives irk me most around Christmas time, as nearly every instance of supposed hostility towards Christmas is revealed to be deliberate dishonesty.

    A major example this year, is the atheist billboard that supposedly is anti-Christmas. Its intent, to encourage closet atheists to admit that they know the whole thing is a myth, has been completely ignored by conservatives covering it.

    • Jesus said

      Dsc01, yes, it is annoying to hear people’s loud and baseless outrage over something that doesn’t exist: namely, the war on Christmas. Here is the content of the post by my former facebook “friend”, and what greeted me as I happily logged onto Facebook on Christmas:

      To my liberal friends: Please accept with no obligation, implied or implicit, my best wishes for an environmentally conscious, socially responsible, low-stress, non-addictive, gender-neutral celebration of the winter solstice holiday, practiced within the most enjoyable traditions of the religious persuasion of your choice, or secular practices of your choice, with respect for the religious/secular persuasion and/or traditions of others, or their choice not to practice religious or secular traditions at all. I also wish you a fiscally successful, personally fulfilling and medically uncomplicated recognition of the onset of the generally accepted calendar year 2011, but not without due respect for the calendars of choice of other cultures whose contributions to society have helped make America great. Not to imply that America is necessarily greater than any other country nor the only America in the Western Hemisphere . Also, this wish is made without regard to the race, creed, color, age, physical ability or religious faith of the wishee.

      To my conservative friends: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

      • Jesus said

        In and of itself, this is pretty tame. However, it was followed by people saying things like, “You have liberal friends? Haha!”, followed by her saying “Sure, would you like me to introduce you? :-)” and other such comments to indicate she and her friends thought liberals were one step above the shit stains in their underwear. this also isn’t the first time she’s expressed her disdain for liberals–despite her mixed-race background, she put up a racist post around election time that compared Obama to chocolate ice cream (you know, because chocolate is brown–just like black people! Dumb $#^#%^!)

        But back to this example. I responded by saying, “Well, this liberal friend wishes you a Merry Christmas, even with the mockery. :-)” Instead of being honest about what she was doing, like a good truth-telling Christian would, she lies and says, “No mockery, just fun.” This was followed by one of her friends saying, “Go ahead and mock liberals. They’re cute when they get angry.” (She gave a “like” thumbs up to that one.) That was the straw that broke the camels back. Like I said, the post was tame, but mocking me to my face, when you’re the fool, is something I don’t abide. I don’t need some stupid, phony, fake Christian bigot with a boob job 3 cup sizes too big for her body to treat me like I’m on an ICA playground or something. Maybe I’m just too used to being treated with respect by non-Christian folks in my day-to-day life. Regardless, I had to delete and block the bitch (sorry for the sexist term, but I like the alliteration and it expresses my righteous anger in adequate fashion.)

        • Paulo said

          Good for you. Who needs “friends” like that.

        • Ann said

          When Jesus mentioned the post and I read it, she was also my Facebook friend, it was so distasteful we agreed to delete her at the same time. She was Jesus’ “friend” to begin with, and she had added me, so it wasn’t difficult. While Peace on Earth for me means tolerating people, it’s not about having to put up with their BS in your personal life. This is especially hard when it is in your family or with historical friends, and there are times of the year when there is no avoiding the interactions. I come from a family that tends to keep stuff to themselves and have learned the mid-western skill of respecting others, but also keeping to yourself to avoid situations that might make you angry. Jesus’ family is less tolerant and more in your face, the people I spent Christmas with this year…some of their views I find highly offensive. Geographical distance works well for these situations, but unfortunately they live near us.

          I wrote in response to this woman’s post on Christmas something like “This post IS mockery, not fun. I don’t see anything wrong with what you’ve accused liberals of doing, unless going overboard at times with pc language out of deference for others who are suffering (like not using “bitches” may I add–dicks are Masters of the World so use of the term dick doesn’t offend the pc ear *this in response to Jesus, not his ex, although his ex WAS being a real bitch). They have done more good in the world, what with advancing the health and well-being of people world-wide than conservatives ever will. I find this post offensive. Goodbye from a liberal “friend”. I hate this post.” Delete.

          She wrote me back asking me to understand where she was coming from, that she is tired of businesses replacing Christmas trees with Minoras and the liberal pc language, but she wishes me and Jesus all the best. Really? You’re not really pissed we just deleted you, likely your only “liberal” friends??

  5. dsc01 said

    Dude. I just realized who we’re talking about. I didn’t see the original note. I think you know why I would be interested. In a family where secrets get passed around in hushed tones, as if they are scarlet letters of shame and not the self-gratifying morsels of juicy gossip that they really are, I’m surprised that I never heard the plastic surgery allegation above (or realized on my own; I guess I should have).

    • Jesus said

      I think what pisses me off the most about this wealthy, paranoid, homeschooler’s post is her attitude that she owns Christmas. She starts by equating her pro-rich politics with her narrow evangelical form of American political Christianity. Then she devalues my ownership of the holiday. You don’t own Christmas, you nasty asshole of a woman!

Leave a Reply

 
