Fugitives from Fundamentalism

The Musings of Adult Missionary Kids (MKs) & Former Born-Again Believers

The Fear, Hate, and Madness of Evangelicals

Posted by Clamence/The Chaplain on March 22, 2011

Remember Victoria Jackson from Saturday Night Live? She’s the one with the high-pitched, air-head voice. She used to grate on my nerves for that reason, before I knew what a hateful, nasty human she was. Whenever I debate Christians, I always try to go to the root of their beliefs in sin. To me, that belief in the inherent evilness of all humans, and the equating of the “sinner” with Evil, is what makes Christianity rotten at the root. It is an ideology that hyperfocuses on the imaginary existence of Evil, and is therefore a mainly negative belief system. Talking about Jesus’ love is nice, but words are cheap.

11 Responses to “The Fear, Hate, and Madness of Evangelicals”

  1. Ann said

    “To me, that belief in the inherent evilness of all humans, and the equating of the “sinner” with Evil, is what makes Christianity rotten at the root. It is an ideology that hyperfocuses on the imaginary existence of Evil, and is therefore a mainly negative belief system. Talking about Jesus’ love is nice, but words are cheap.”

    This is my main issue with Christianity. Words are cheap, and most of the Christians I know completely contradict themselves and believe they are being honest (and actually, maybe they are cause the brain is irrational!). Hey, self-deception is a human norm after all (as we know from the study of our brains). People talk about love, and acceptance, at the same time they talk about everyone’s evilness. So I don’t think you love me, and you especially don’t seem to love anyone who is gay, and neither does your Christ (he will see me and all gay people in hell after all). But then, since Christ isn’t real, and he is whoever you want him to be, then maybe he does love me AND will send me to hell…and maybe you do love me AND think I’m evil and need to go to hell. Some Christians are worse than others this way, particularly those who are evangelical Christians. This lady in the video has one of the worst cases of fundamentalism I’ve seen yet.

    Hello Christians, there is a way out–forget your beliefs about people, most of them are made up philosophizing bunk anyway, and live your own life. I’ll let you keep your beliefs about Christ, just leave me, and everyone else, out of it. I’m done with your unsolicited, non-evidenced based advice for the world (ha! I have a few Christian friends, this is for you and I recognize this is wishful thinking-lol). I have a friend who is Muslim and she hasn’t brought up her beliefs or pushed herself on me once in the year or so I’ve known her. She is very easy to hang out with.

    • Ann said

      **I actually had a friend last week tell me even if I don’t believe now, maybe I could reach into my Christian roots for God’s guidance. I don’t think she gets me. I still like her a lot though anyway.

  2. JN said

    Is she for real? I almost thought I was watching SNL for a moment.

    This is sort of off-topic, but one of the big problems with Glee, other than the cast spontaneously combusting into song, is that the show does seem to push issues in a way that’s not natural. It’s almost like embedded commercials in The Biggest Loser, which are obviously attempts to sell a product. People react negatively to that stuff, especially when it conflicts with their value system.

    I’ve seen a few episodes of the show. I guess it could be sort of fun, but most of the time the show just seems kind of stupid. I’m surprised people haven’t tired of the same plot over and over and over.

  3. Jesus said

    JN, despite my never having seen the show I would have to take issue with the idea that a show with kissing gay characters is pushing issues in a way that is not natural. Unless you also want to say that about a show like “Leave It to Beaver” which presents (not push, present) a totally unrealistic conservative ideal of family. All shows present a reality that someone will get their panties in a bunch about. What about the show “24”? I would say that “presents” a very conservative paranoid fear of the ticking time bomb scenario those folks use to justify torture and atrocities. I could say that they are pushing that ideology, but really all they are doing is presenting it as if it’s a real thing. They are presenting their ideal. The creators of Glee view homosexuality and hot guys kissing as a normal thing, so they present it that way. It only seems like they are “pushing” an agenda to hateful bigots like this nasty human in the video. Her and the fundamentalist Muslims she mentions are more alike than she understands.

    Your Seminary is Here
    When God calls you to the ministry, we have you the education you need.
    http://www.ltss.edu
    Online Theology Degrees
    Study Theology From Home. Earn A Degree. Request Free Info Today!
    eLearners.com

    • Jesus said

      Oh, I forgot to talk about the ads I pasted to the end of that response. I was going to say that those ads appeared at the bottom of this Victoria Jackson post. The ad engine thinks this website’s audience is interested in going to seminary! Haha!

    • JN said

      “I could say that they are pushing that ideology, but really all they are doing is presenting it as if it’s a real thing. They are presenting their ideal. The creators of Glee view homosexuality and hot guys kissing as a normal thing, so they present it that way.”

      You’re assuming that this is what is being done in the show. I can’t claim to be an expert. I’ve only seen the show a handful of times, but the writers’ approach just doesn’t sing true for me, especially compared to other shows that have dealt with similar topics. The early seasons “Skins,” a British show about the exploits of high school kids, did a much better job with their gay characters.

    • JN said

      Fictional realities still have to believable, or they at least convince the audience to suspend its skepticism.

      I just read a bad novel that had a clear agenda. The agenda didn’t bug me. It was the way in which the author failed to make agenda blend seamlessly into the plot. The plot was too convenient, not believable. While the author might have scratched all her objectives off the list, she ultimately failed to write a good novel.

      I think Glee falls into the same category, although the medium allows for the conveniences of the sitcom format. I don’t have as much of a problem with the message as I do the execution. Maybe it’s just not my type of show.

  4. I hate it when Christians use bible quotes to try to make their point. You’re quotes are irrelevant to me because i don’t believe in that. You can’t prove the bible by quoting the bible. Its the most inane method of making you point.

Leave a Reply

 
